Talk About It

Have you talked to anyone about your job?  Your achievements?  Your challenges?

When I talked to anyone about my first job, it was either to complain about the sheer frustration I experienced working on the computer, or to share how I had helped yet another co-worker understand how to do something in Word, or Excel, or whatnot.

That was how I’d landed my first job in the training field.  The wife (girlfriend at the time) knew what I enjoyed working at the bank, and had suggested that I interview for a job for which I had no real experience.  I had bolstered my resume to show that I had done something along the lines of training, but, with 20/20 hindsight, my hiring as a default trainer had more to do with serendipity, fortune, and what I had told my girlfriend.

“That’s what you like to do,” she said.  “You should go for it.  I’ll bet you’d be good.”

Nearly nine years later, she was right.

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

